Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

Over the past decade, human inventions have revolutionised modern technology. Devices and tools such as dishwashers and computers are expected to make human lives easier. This essay will discuss whether modern technology reduces or increase stress in human lives. Firstly, modern equipment helps people to save time and allows families to connect from different parts of the world, thus reducing stress. Devices such as dishwashers allow people to save time spent on household chores. For instance, a survey in India shows, the usage of such devices has helped women to invest more time in their self-development. Moreover, nowadays people often settle abroad for a better life, while living away from families and tools such as smartphones have helped with connectivity. For example, youngsters who are able to be in contact with their families often while studying abroad have shown higher levels of mental stability. Hence, having free time for self-growth and being able to connect with people, with the help of technology reduces stress. However, modern inventions carry their own cons as well. The increase in the usage of such devices, create dependencies and insecurities among individuals, increasing stress. Being dependent on such equipment reduces the ability to perform other activities. For example, in,America children spend most of their time on mobile phones and lack interest in education and sports. Additionally, it creates insecurity for a person who cannot afford the product. For instance, people who do not own modern household products, often feel low about their lives, in comparison with the people who own. Thus, modern technology fuels negative traits in lives creating more stress. In conclusion, modern devices and tools are essential in the current world as humans are evolving as well. Furthermore, it has helped many individuals in improving their lives.