In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Some argue that physical shops will receive non- cash payments only, thus people should pay using their cards or mobile phones in the future. This will not happen because when the power is off then the business completely stops. Some folks especially elderly people will have difficulties with this shift. Implementing card and app payment only will cause trouble to the business when the electricity is going down. This is because this cashless method relies greatly on the internet to make transactions occur. Thus when a disaster such as a flood damages the electricity infrastructure, the town will be blacked out. In this situation people still need to buy their necessities, however, the shops cannot sell their stocks because there will be no way to receive the money, therefore the businesses have to halt their activities. For example, during the earthquake in Yogyakarta, the residents preferred to shop in local stores because they accepted cash payments and avoided shopping in card- payment -only businesses because there was no electricity for days. Upon the shift in payment methods, the elderly generation will face difficulties buying their necessities. This is because most of them are slow to catch up with technology updates such as using an e-wallet to pay their groceries. In addition, many of them may not have a bank account and many of this generation solely use cash for every transaction. For example, in Indonesia, the government’s data shows that many older people do not have any bank account, particularly those who work in informal jobs. They only have cash thus they are unable to follow the shift. In conclusion, cash payment will still exist in the future because when the power is off, it will halt business activities. Some older people will not be happy because they do not own bank accounts to perform the cashless payment method.