Some believe that people should not continue to work once they reach the age of retirement. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include relevant examples from your experience.

Many individuals are of the opinion that public servants ought not to be active in service as they reach retirement years. I strongly concur with this option that, the elderly who are on the verge of completing their period of work shouldn't be encouraged to go ahead working. This is because the older they get the less productive they become and also vulnerable to occupational hazards. To begin with, I'm of the opinion that, and strongly believe, individuals clocking towards official leaving of civil service should not be permitted to go ahead working. Although, still as civil servants, it is detrimental both as a person and organization in terms of productivity and task achievement. Whenever age comes upon a person, his special senses of touch, taste, hearing and vision no longer remain sharp as they were they dwindled, strength also diminishes. Thereby rendering them susceptible to injury. Also, Where I workedfor a decade and a half, there was this excellent official driver to our head of department. In all his years, never had a history of road traffic accidents. However, as he reaches the time of retirement, he had three cases of accidents which he could have avoided. The poor driver made this statement and I quote " I didn't see the saloon car coming, all I did hear was a little sound of horn-like". The professional driver couldn't see clearly, or hear well now as compared to then. In addition, as a result of their strength reduction, so also shall their input in job allocation which would in turn affect the out considerably and whenever, there's reduced input, the resultant output would be affected and job satisfaction is defeated. The organization will suffer. Furthermore, A neighbour of mine, a machine operator at a floor mill company lost his left arm because he was unable to control a loose lever. In conclusion, government and organizations should not allow people to perform organisational tasks as they march forward to their retirement. Nevertheless, this is because of the negative effects which be inflicted on them as individuals as well as a system because they lack the necessary strength, will and skills as a result of their bodies undergoing degenerative changes, which prone them to avoidable occupational injuries and dimishined job satisfaction and output