In modern world technology develops dramatically. Some people believe that this is good for traditional cultures, but others think it will lead to their extinction. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, different people have different views on whether enormous technological advancements significantly affect the cultural identity of particular nations or not. In my opinion, this influence is negative to some extent; however, in some ways, it brings certain benefits to nations. On the one hand, technological developments lead to the loss of cultural characteristics. First of all, they speed up globalisation, turning the world into a global village. Due to instant information exchanged, new trends have spread worldwide and dominated customs. Another way that technology contributes to the disappearance of traditional identity is through the huge opportunities provided by big cities. Previously, generations of families grew up in small communities and maintained their customs and beliefs. In the modern world, people easily find new ways to improve their standard of living. As a result, we see villages abandoned by their inhabitants, as nobody wants to spend his life in a rural area, while cities are full of so many favourable conditions. On the other hand, it is a well-known fact that there are various untouched tribes in the Amazon or in Africa. Traditional cultures still thrive there, and people still live by hunting and gathering food, as they are resistant to modern technological inventions. Another point is that technology helps preserve cultural values and even disseminate them worldwide. In fact, by properly promoting through the internet, they attract more tourists and stimulate people's interest. Moreover, technology helps farmers in remote places prosper, as they are able to find better offers for their goods and use up-to-date technologies in their businesses. In conclusion, certain negative effects of technological progress in terms of cultural traditions are obvious. Nevertheless, a great number of distinctive communities have survived and even flourished despite or due to advancements in technology.