Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games waste their time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of computer games? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there are enormously fun activities in which a child can participate. Some people claim that young individuals should get involved in playing electronic and computer games. While others assert that these interests only waste time. On the one hand, supporters of engaging children in electronic devices and playing on a monitor believe that these interests help a young individual think in a rational way. Furthermore, playing a game on the PC requires lots of different visual perspectives, and only with a correct decision can a player win the game. For instance, puzzle play or brain stimulation word games could be a better option to help the child increase their vocabulary and keep their brain active. Thus, such gaming can cultivate a wider perspective in a child, which is certainly a vital skill. On the other hand, society opposes the idea that children should not play games on PCs and electronic devices; they explain in their favour that young people should concentrate more on their academics than on gaming. Indeed, there are a plethora of other activities, like sports, exercise, and yoga classes, in which a minor can take part to spend his leisure time. Moreover, PC games are addictive in nature, which can have a detrimental impact on his or her life. Hence, due to these reasons, people emphasise other activities more than the aforementioned. To conclude, although engaging in computer activities can promote cognitive abilities in children, the side effects of these recreations cannot be ignored. I believe young individuals should not only play games on the computer because of their negative consequences on their minds and behaviour but there are also other ways that children can learn similar skills in other activities.