In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In this contemporary, although modern mechanical farming has significantly increased the productivity of cultivation a lot, there are still many people over the world living under starvation. I believe the phenomenon of waste food and crops being used for purposes other than food is the primary reason to cause this problem, and it should be resolved in economic ways. Firstly, some countries, especially those developed countries are suffering from serious food waste problems. There is a large number of food discarded every day in these countries which is able to account for over 40% of people's daily food consumption. For example, the combined food consumption of America, Japan and Europe accounts for 70% of the global total, while 40% of this is thrown away which is on par with the number of food consumed in the rest of the world. Secondly, many crops are grown for other purposes rather than for eating. Because they can bring additional value to other fields. For instance, livestock farmers in Australia will import 6 million tons of soybeans every year as feed because compare with traditional grazing, cattle can grow better by eating soybeans, and this can make the cows sell for a better price. Thus pursuing higher economic values from crops is another negative reason impact on humans' access to food. For what can we do about this problem, I believe instead of letting those casually discarded food going to rot, we require more food banks to collect them to help those people in need. Furthermore, governments should introduce policies to restrict the use of crops and prioritize human needs first. In conclusion, the main reasons why there are still many people over the world starving are due to the serious food -wasting phenomenon in some groups and the abuse of food to feed livestock. Introducing further advanced policies and measures may help to resolve this problem.