In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second-hand goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

To begin, in some countries, people tend to buy second-hand goods rather than spend a lot on brand-new products. According to my point of view, I believe that this is a positive trend in a world where resources and facilities are highly limited. First and foremost, at present many forums in the world talk and convey their concerns on sustainability. Our Earth is running out of resources at an increased rate with the growth of the human population. Therefore, the usage of second-hand items is an environment-friendly and sustainable step towards the betterment of our planet. For example, there are designated markets for used products in many developed countries where we can purchase good quality items for a cheaper price. Furthermore, our society has become very competitive and most TV commercials and advertisements encourage people to spend their money on brand-new items. But, rather than wasting money to buy something new, second-hand products provide various options to choose from without spending much. Moreover, a few decades back, most people with low salaries followed this method but, at present the way people look at this concept has changed positively. Many men and women purchase used goods despite their social status or income. To conclude, in some,countries people tend to buy second-hand products which I believe is a positive trend in many ways. It is not only important for sustainable development but also a very progressive initiative to save money and other limited resources like energy and time. Additionally, people are more intelligent and think twice before getting caught in commercials and advertisements done by celebrities.