Nowadays shopping has replaced many other activities that people choose as their hobby in their free time. What are the reasons for this? Is this positive or negative development?

In these modern times, with a lot of malls build in the cities due to the government creating more business, people’s behaviour has changed to a large extent. As a result, a lot of people are inclined to shop as their pastime rather than the outdoor activities they usually do. In this essay, I will discuss the various reasons behind on this and I believe it has more negative impact as opposed to positive. Firstly, having easy access to shopping centre and showrooms that has a variety of essential and branded items, entertainment such as kids’ zone etc and spas. This makes individuals tempt to do window shopping and unknowingly spend a lot of their time walking around the areas. To illustrate, when parents do their groceries at the shopping malls and take their kids with them, it is expected that they extend their time, particularly to kids’ zone and toy stores. Secondly, with the aid of the internet or advanced technology, advertisement has also dominated social media where companies keep flashing huge discount sales on Facebook and Instagram. In this way, passive customers get attracted to the offer and tend to buy any sales item that could possibly be unwanted. On the other hand, this activity that is often going on a shopping spree to shopping plazas has negative implications for us as human beings such as people leaning toward a sluggish lifestyle. Take for example, at the weekend instead of doing some outdoor activities like tennis, walking in the park, basketball etc. people switch their interest due to these supermarket stores are everywhere. Furthermore, with this habit of always buying things it would be inevitable that folks become spendthrifts and as a, result this would make their finances strained which could lead to a serious issue. In conclusion, whilst shopping is irresistible to others and with an adverse effect on them, it is undeniable that these facts are lies for everyone.