Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that universities should accept the same number of male and female students in all subjects to promote gender equality. I believe that the equality of male and female students should be protected. However, I disagree that the same number of enrolments of each gender is an appropriate way. I will illustrate my opinion in the below paragraph. Nowadays, there are still many inequalities happening in our society. One in particular, that is present in many cultures is gender inequalities. For instance, women may do the same work but receive a lower pay, and only a small percentage of women can reach leadership positions. Therefore we should do something to make our society more equal. This may include making sure that women and men have the same opportunity to get a decent education. Nevertheless, I do not agree that enrolling the same number of male and female students in every subject is the right method. It is not the expectation that the interest of any university subject to be shared equally by students from each gender. Women and men usually have different preferences in the subjects or career choices. From my observation, subjects including technology or computer science are more preferred by men. On the other hand, subjects such as nursing and hospitality have more female student enrolment. Therefore, if we force universities to accept equal numbers of male and female students to every subject, some talented students may be rejected from the course simply because of over-enrolment of students from the same gender. This leads to another unfair situation. In conclusion, I agree that we need to do something to promote gender-equal society. However, controlling the gender proportion at enrolment is not an appropriate way.