Excessive use of private cars is considered the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities, which is why the use of public transportation is encouraged. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of using public transport?

There is no doubt that the increasing use of personal cars contributes as one of the pivotal factors to traffic-clogged roads. This reason has encouraged people to use public transportation instead. In my opinion, these alternative forms of transportation can bring out merits and demerits. On the one hand, public transport seems an ideal solution for citizens’ concerns in urban areas around the world such as rising fuel costs, environmental problems, and especially busy roads. As the population in cities is on the rise over the years yet urban infrastructure remains the same, the number of cars owned by the citizens at the same time increases to cater to their commuting demands. This inevitably leads to traffic jams, especially during some “peak hours". Therefore, the fewer private cars on the streets, the less busy the streets are. To achieve this goal, using public transport seems to be an effective approach. Using bus services or railway systems not only reduces the number of transports on the roads but also improves residents' physical health as commuters have to walk a certain distance to reach bus or train stations. On the other hand, using only state-owned vehicles can cause several inconveniences to city dwellers. Public transport users have to depend greatly on the scheduled arrival times and they have to follow certain routes. In some cases, commuters might end up being late for work or appointments. Another disadvantage that should be taken into consideration is the increasing number of bus and train systems. Ideal as the proposal sounds, it may cause another traffic jam scenario just like what private cars have done. In conclusion, using state-owned transport considerably is the ultimate solution to traffic congestion thanks to many of its advantages. However, this method still holds a few disadvantages that prevent individuals from using public transport.