SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT NOW WE CAN SEE FILMS ON OUR PHONES OR TABLETS, THERE IS NO NEED TO GO TO THE CINEMA. OTHERS SAY THAT TO BE FULLY ENJOYED, FILMS NEED TO BE SEEN IN A CINEMA.

A certain number of individuals illustrate that digital devices such as smartphones and iPads are perfectly adequate for watching movies. From my perspective, the factors affecting the choice of a method to watch movies are completely subjective and my viewpoints shall be substantiated in the paragraphs below. On one hand, there are a plethora of platforms available online which allow us to stream any form of media for a moderate yet affordable subscription cost when compared with a ticket. To illustrate, Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, Disney+, and HBO are just a few examples of providers enabling users to watch movies and tv shows wherever and whenever they feel like it. Apart from that, with the growing age of the population on planet earth, the uncertainty of finding the preferred seat when booking a ticket to the cinema, is increasing day by day. Thus, it is much easier and safer to stay home and enjoy the benefits of the Internet. Moreover, these platforms also provide us with the luxury of mobile apps that can be installed on our extremely portable smartphones, allowing us to make use of their online services anywhere around the world as long as we have access to data. Quintessentially, the budget that we must keep in mind when going to the cinema is proportionately higher due to the fact that food and beverages at any theatre cost significantly more than their original market price. On the other hand, the magnitude of comfort that we might find at a well-established movie theatre is sky-high. Furthermore, the quality of the visuals and the screen is something that we can never recreate inside a home. Concurrently, certain theatres have exclusive waiters for every customer in order to make it very feasible to order food and beverages. For instance, C2- Laserplex at Nariman Point is such a sumptuous theatre that you need to book weeks ahead in order to get a desired seat available all to yourself, in addition to that, your seat would contain the same range of controls that one might find on an airplane, ranging from call-for-assistance to control of the thermostat. Moreover, the waiters available there serve exclusively to your seat throughout the entire duration of the movie. Consequently, such movie theatres allow us to have an extremely joyous experience overall. In my opinion, the intentions behind choosing the theater or an online platform are personalised. To elaborate further, people who find it difficult to make time to visit a theater often are more satisfied using digital platforms for entertainment purposes. For example, using Jio Tv allows its consumers to watch movies on their website with the help of internet access. This saves a lot of time and energy that would have been required if we were to book a ticket and travel to a cinema hall. On the contrary, individuals who like to be a part of the movie theatre experience and be able to share it with their friends, are more comfortable visiting a multiplex instead of staying home. To conclude, choosing between a multiplex or an electronic device should not be argued upon as both of them have their own respective benefits which may come in handy to the person required to make that choice. Hence, theaters can provide us with a satisfying experience, while utilising digital platforms will enable us to save time and money.