Some experts believe it is better for animals to live in zoos where they are safe and are given all the food they need. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that zoos are better place for animals ’ lives because of safety and sustenance. While there are serious negative consequences of living in zoo for animals, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, animals often feel trapped while staying in their cages, because zoos often offer unnatural and poor living condition. In wildlife, animals have a confidence to move, to hunt and to find foods and better place to live as well. Moreover, quite limited space causes boredom, illness, and changes on their behaviour. Animals become angry due to lack of space. Daily visitors and different noise are additional factors to develop feeling of anger on animals. Sometimes these will be reason of death of some animals. On the other hand, I strongly agree that zoos are better to keep animals longer and healthy. Animals are safe in the place from different disaster, illness, and poaching. Animals are in control of zoos permanently. Zoos can provide any solution if there are problems related to health on animals. In addition, animals are safer from poaching and predators in zoos. It is true that poaching animals is almost impossible because of protection of zoos compared to wildlife. Furthermore, keeping animals in zoos gives an opportunity to researches. Scientists can collect more information about animals, their living, population. This data is valuable knowledge for young generation to learn about physiology of animals. In conclusion, while wildlife is beneficial to live for animals, I believe that the advantages of keeping them in zoos are greater than the drawbacks.