In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high School and starting University studies.Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who decide to do this

It has been observed that certain Nationals advised their youngsters to have a year vacation or engage in a vocation after a senior school class before proceeding to higher learning. This has both benefits and unfavourable outcomes as this can help them prepare for the financial burden of university studies as well as expose them to other es cultures but can also result in a waste of time and discourage the pursuit of higher education. These points will be elaborated in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. One of the main advantages is that it enable the students to gain the financial momentum needed for their academics through savings from their working period. This will be beneficial to those with capital challenges as it will boost their revenue. For instance, a young chap from low-income parents may find it difficult to pay for tuition and other expenses in school but with savings will be able to meet some needs. In addition, it exposes the youth to happenings around the world through visits to other continents, learning of new languages and so on. For example, a young fellow from a developing country visit to a developed nation will be well-informed about changes in the world around them. These two scenarios can also help in choosing a career path after working with an organization and being well-oriented about the career progression of some professionals as well as orientation to the developed world around them. The disadvantages of this is that for enthusiastic adolescents, it can lead to the waste of precious years for these students as some have the resources intact for their education as well as a fully determined focus in life, this will hinder their progress. Also, exposure to money might discourage some from pursuing their passion as they might believe they are doing well already, hence no need for further studies. For example, a young chap collecting wages that he has visualized he might be able to get with a graduate certificate now might not see the need to pursue a career any longer. In conclusion, the policy has advantages like financial freedom and learning about other people's ways of life as well as disadvantages including loss of interest in further learning and time wastage.The pros and cons should be fully discussed with the students so as to make a logical decision on giving a year's space between their learning period.