In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It has come to notice that various nations advise their youngsters to get engaged or embark on a journey for twelve months between completion of secondary school and being admitted into the university. They're lots of merits to this as it helps them to learn vocations which can generate funds to support their academic pursuit and also enhance their maturity. However, this has its own demerits some students may choose to engage in various vices as they Will be idle and several of them may lose interest in furthering their studies. This essay will elucidate on this with relevant examples and a valid conclusion will be drawn. To begin, a number of countries have made it a norm for their high school leavers to get employed for a period of one year before entering the universities of their choice ce. This has its own advantage and on the contrary a disadvantages as well If they are given this opportunity it enables them to venture into vocations such as fashion designing, hairstylist and lots more it will generate income which can even assist the young people in fending for themselves when they resume the academic year by so doing reducing the financial burden on their parents. However some students may rather choose to be idle instead of learning a trade or going vacation then they became vulnerable to all sorts of social vices like getting involved in illicit drugs, occultism even theft. For, instance a boy whose parents and siblings have gone out for work and school who was left alone and idle then began to visit various sites on social media through which he was introduced to internet fraud alongside marijuana that he joined and by this singular decision, his future is ruined. Additionally, the period allocated for them to work or travel also enhances their maturity, as we all know that children mature on a daily basis especially, the cognitive development. For instance,a child in his or her teenage age finished Secondary School after spending a year might have become an adolescent which means the boy or girl has attained a new milestone in his or her life. This will make learning easier when returning to school. Conversely, the freedom enjoyed by this some of these adolescents during the period of leaving school can make them lose enthusiasm or total interest in furthering their studies. For example, the kind of chastisement that teachers gave them while in school compared to when at home without a teacher and their allowed to do what they like therefore going to be under another which is the university lecturers can be so discouraging to them. Conclusively, encouraging high school leavers to work or travel before gaining admission into the university accord them the opportunity to fend for themselves and get more mature while on the contrary can get them involved in diverse social misdeeds and become discouraged to further their education. I suggest that this custom should continue because the advantages are enormous.