Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time.

There are many competing views on who should decide on recreational activities for little ones. While some think this should be decided by parents, others believe they should be allowed to do whatever they like. Although children need the freedom to choose their desired form of entertainment, I believe it is safer and better for parents to guide them. On the one hand, giving youngsters the chance to decide on their leisure activities will make them possess a sense of freedom and responsibility. In other words, when they make their choice of time-out, it creates room for them to develop their potentials which might help them in becoming successful. For example, a boy who enjoys drawing and painting in his free time on his own later became a great artist. However, it will be safer when parents arrange free time activities for their children so they can boost their morale. On the other hand, parents should select the forms of activities their kids should engage in as this will instil a sense of discipline and make them build their children's moral values. In this technology age, almost every child now has access to phones and computers, and this can predispose them to visit illegal sites, play games or engage in any other activities which may have a negative effect on their morals. However, this may not occur when their activities are being guided by their parents. For instance, a mother can supervise the child to ensure that he or she spends very little time on the internet playing games and introduce many other beneficial things online such as learning skills, reading e-books and listening to poems among others. Thus, this will make them disciplined and possess good values in society. Conclusively, despite the need for the freedom of little ones in the kind of time-out activities they desire to do, I still believe the parents should be the ones to arrange their leisure activities as this will ensure discipline and make them parents responsible in building their children's ethical values.