All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same number of holidays in a year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that every member of company staff be entitled to the same amount of holiday time as a gesture of equal treatment in the workplace. I personally take issue with this suggestion. Admittedly, a company can benefit from a uniform holiday time policy in some respects. One immediate positive outcome of such a policy would be improved staff morale. Having received an equal amount of holiday break, staff members, especially junior employees, feel appreciated and a heightened sense of self-worth, which are critical to employee engagement. One other upside to having the same number of sabbaticals is better group dynamics. That is, it helps foster positive relationships between the employee and the supervisor seeing as everyone’s work is equally rewarded. This is especially true in the case of new recruits who might feel underappreciated for lack of experience and familiarity with their job. In these regards, company can enjoy boosted productivity as a result of the so-called “just holiday system”. Despite these benefits, I see some flaws in allowing all employees equal holiday break irrespective of their job title or productivity. The main downside is arguably loss of competitive spirit in the workplace. Since most people consider their holiday length as a privilege earned for their exceptional performance, they become less driven to work hard when their holiday time is capped. This, as a result, might mean fewer high performers in a company. Not only does uniform holiday break hurt employee performance, but it can also prove financially disadvantageous. This is because a general rise in vacation time is often followed by a fall in output, which means no additional revenue for the company. In effect, the company is less likely to grow. In conclusion, there are certainly some advantages to having the same amount of time off work for the entire staff, but I believe it can hinder competition in a company and its bottom line.