Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

We live in a world today where countries spend an important amount of taxes on space exploration. In this essay, I will discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this trend. Humans have already done tons of damage on planet earth, such as pollution and Global Warming and there are plenty of scientists warning mankind that these will have severe effects on our planet; therefore, governments all over the world should invest an amount of their taxes revenues on the mission of searching for a new habitat for human beings, for example, through the last decade, Nasa has discovered several exoplanets like earth on our Milky Way galaxy. Moreover, some scholars claim that this investment is contributing to scientific breakthroughs in a variety of ways; thus, making people's lives much easier. Despite the obvious appeal, there are several disadvantages to this tendency, some individuals claim that the quality of public services such as the healthcare system, education system as well as public transport is decreasing and barely able to fulfil the daily needs of citizens; therefore, governments and local councils should spend the taxes cash on developing these vital services, for instance, a big number of metropolises around the globe suffer from traffic congestion, and nations should concentrate on this particular problem rather than space travel. Furthermore, some people believe that space exploration budget is best to be added to the medical research budget because there are various diseases that are still incurable and a big number of patients are dying every year because of the lack of treatment. To conclude, as I have discussed, investing taxpayers’ money in outer space exploration has both advantages and disadvantages.