Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In recent decades, many animal and plant species have disappeared. Thus, it is often argued by some people that the extinction of certain flora and fauna is the major environmental issue, whilst others believe that various problems like global warming and pollution are more alarming. In my opinion, the latter concern has a more drastic impact and it should be prioritized for the sustainability of our globe. To begin with, it is evident that due to the loss of various species, the food chain has been disturbed. Moreover, diseases also break because of the absence of an animal or a plant which is responsible for the removal of organic wastes or the production of useful gases in the atmosphere. For example, in my country, vultures have vanished during the last twenty years, due to which people get infections as most of the animals' leftovers remain exposed for longer periods of time. On the other hand, if we talk about the uncontrolled production of greenhouse gases, which results in global warming and cause severe damage to the lungs, the percentage of carbon dioxide in the air has reached its upper limit. Furthermore, these gases are also producing smog in many countries which causes allergic reactions to skin and eyes. For instance, it has been declared by World Health Organization that amount of toxic gases in the air is the root cause of lung cancer and if precautionary measures will not be taken, more than 10% of the world's population will be affected by this disease till the year 2034. To conclude, by considering both perspectives, I opine that there are many environmental problems which are more dangerous than the loss of animals and plant species, as they directly affect the human population.