Write about the following topic: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days huge sales of items are directly linked to the advertisement, however, it is not connected to the necessity of any item for a community. I totally agree with this statement. Because advertisements entice customers by relating it to either a current trend or health and in some customer groups, it links to a cost saving for given a time period. The primary reason is to advertise a product by showcasing it as the latest trend. For example, in India, the Apple company watch is being advertised as a trend and many personnel consider purchasing it even though it is not required. because many other products fulfil the same requirement and for some people, it is a luxury as well. The secondary reason is advertising is linked to health such as it helps to reduce weight, as many people are fitness freaks, hence, these companies target those groups of people and managed to sell the product. For instance, fruit juice product advertisements are linked to controlling weight. Hence customers choose to select this brand and add it to a cart. Finally, the majority of customers look for a cost savings company's promotion of a limited period offer that enforces them to purchase more such as a buy 1 get 1 offer for two days, a year-end clearance sale also ad-hoc discounts of items. These tricks force individuals to purchase more than their requirements. In conclusion, I completely agree that individuals buy items more than necessary when advertisements are broadcasted. It may be related to health, low prices or current trends.