Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who serve their first prison sentence, leave jail only to re-offend. This is mainly because of the lack of rehabilitation and unemployment once released. Also, at times they find it easy to stay in lockup when compared to living in society and earning their livelihood. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with this situation. Foremost, the main reason first-time culprits commit crimes again, once they have been released from prison, is due to the lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, they are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future. For instance, while serving their sentence in jail, they can learn skills like cooking or construction work that can help them earn their living in the outside world. Secondly, repeat offending is owing to the difficulty in finding employment after being released. Because of their criminal backgrounds, employers get reluctant to give them a job leaving them with no chance but to commit crimes again. Thus, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime, regardless of the consequences. Nonetheless, there are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering lockup are given the chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job after they have served their sentence. It will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. Another method of dealing with them is to have more supervision and checks in place when they are back in society. Like, a regular visit by someone from the police department to ensure how the person is doing in his life can prevent them from taking any chances and deter them from reoffending because they are being so closely watched. Therefore, with such measures criminals will be cautious in committing crimes again. In conclusion, having training in lockup and close observation when first-time offenders are released is effective in dealing with the issue. If governments implemented these solutions, crime figures would soon drop.