Some people think there should be free healthcare for all people, but others disagree. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

The question of whether healthcare should be provided for free or not has been a controversial topic for many people. This essay will examine both sides of the debate and agree that universal healthcare is not a sustainable practice. Proponents of free healthcare argue that healthcare is a fundamental human right and that it must be easily accessible and free of charge for everyone regardless of their income. They argue that healthcare is essential for maintaining good health, preventing diseases, and ensuring people can live their life to the fullest. Therefore, denying people access to healthcare based on their ability to pay is similar to homicide, which is socially unjust and goes against the principles of social justice. On the other hand, opponents of this argue that it is financially unsustainable as it would be a burden for taxpayers. They argue that healthcare is expensive, so providing free healthcare for everybody would require significant government subsidies. This increased funding required may result in higher tax rates, which may put a strain on the economy. For example, many Eastern European countries that have adopted free health care policies are experiencing high taxation, which is a burden for their population. This burden either holds them from opening new businesses because of the high tax rate or increases the cost of goods and services, thus increasing their living expenses. In my opinion, universal healthcare also has the possible drawback of demotivating people to work. If healthcare is provided freely, some people may lose the incentive to work and pay for medications and healthcare services. This could lead to reduced productivity as well as social issues such as poverty and unemployment. For example, because of not having to pay for health care costs, some individuals may get a sense of entitlement and expect the government to pay for these expenses. As a result, they would not take their health or jobs seriously. In conclusion, although access to healthcare for all can be deemed as a basic right of human beings, its unsustainability of burdening the economy and the risk of demotivating people to work makes universal healthcare an unrealistic practice.