It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children.

Reward and punishment are very vital in bringing up individuals. Some people believe that it is necessary to employ punishments in the upbringing of a child at a tender age to enable them to differentiate the good from the bad. I strongly disagree with this argument. Despite the fact that punishment can help shape a child, I believe that incorporating punishments in the early stage of life of a child will cause emotional and physical harm. Instead, measures such as detention can be used by parents and teachers to instil splendid attitudes in children. To begin with, minors at early ages have brains which are underdeveloped and not matured enough to distinguish right from wrong. For instance, an infant at one year old will not understand their actions and why they are being scolded for an offence. Hence, scolding will not be beneficial in correcting the infant but only causes physical and emotional pain. However, parents and teachers can adopt punishment strategies such as detention to deter youngsters from indulging in unacceptable behaviours. For example in schools, teachers can correct negative behaviors by detaining students after school. While they are being detained, they can be made to engage in some activities such as reading alone in a classroom. This form of punishment causes no harm to the child. In summary, it is essential that children are punished for committing an offence but also very crucial that the mode of correction is taken into consideration. I strongly agree that infants who are underaged should be exempted from punishment as it distorts their emotional and physical state.