E-books have overtaken paper books. Few people like it and few do not.What are the advantages and disadvantages of using e-books.

In this current world, it is an undeniable fact that electronic books can be accessed easily and owing to this fact, most individuals are not interested in the traditional way of getting information which is by reading paper books. Clearly, when people read e- books, they can easily carry their reading materials with them wherever they go, and they can help to protect the environment: nevertheless, there are a number of drawbacks that can be noted. One obvious benefit when people choose to read via their phones or computers is that they can read the materials easily. This is due to the fact that e- books can be downloaded within a short period of time, and people can save the downloaded books on their phones or computers. In other words, they do not need to have special shelves for their books at home or carry the books in their bags whenever they go. Hence, they can use their electronic devices to read their preferred reading material at any place they want without having the burden of carrying heavy books with them. For instance, they can read the book that they interested in with their phone while they are on a train without being having the trouble of carrying a thick book and flipping the pages. Another merit of e- books is that they help to safeguard the environment. In order to produce books, trees need to be chopped and plastics are used for packaging. Undoubtedly, these can impact the environment negatively,especially when more books are produced. Nonetheless, they are two disadvantages to having e- books. First of all, it may not be interesting for some. Having a book gives different meanings to different individuals. While some people enjoy flipping the pages of the books, others feel amazed by touching the materials and smelling the book that they have. It motivates them to read and at the same time, it gives them a connection to the book that they own. With e- books, such features are not available, and some who are very emotional do not have an interest to read. Secondly, reading e-materials means spending long hours in front of devices such as phones or computers. It cannot be denied that such a practice can affect people's eyes negatively because the light that is produced by the mentioned gadgets can certainly impact one's vision. In the long run, wearing glasses will be a norm for every individual including younger children who are interested in reading comics or short stories on their phones. To sum up, there are a number of advantages of reading e- books; however, when this has become a trend, some individuals who appreciate real books will not be keen on reading any longer and at the same time, it will also lead to issues with eyesight. Therefore, e- books and real books should exist together no matter how advanced the world is.