Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which will causes many health problems. Sigary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As an introduction, most of the beverages and fast foods nowadays contain high amount of sugar, that can be hazadrous to health of the people. In my opinion, I agree to the idea, that these products should cost more than the healthy foods to reduce the sales. In the following essay I would like to elaborate more on the topic and discuss the major points. High sugar food items cause numerous non communicable diseases in the modern era. These products are easily available in stores and can be bought with a low cost. Hence, more people use to buy these instead of making healthy meals at home. Therefore, diseases like diabetes mellitus, obesity, heart problems and strokes have been drastically increasing. As an example, over the time, the availability of junk meals has been on the rise as well as the above mentioned health issues. If these items are expensive, the sales will be dropped and, most will be changed into a healthy diet with lots of health benefits. In contrast, there are some benefits of using unhealthy meals. Firstly, these are readily available in restaurents, which is cost effective and the time spend for home cooking can be minimized. Secondly, some people use these sweetened foods to releive relive their stress. For instance, most of the office workers use sugary foods to overcome the depression. In conclusion, currently the diseases related to obesity are on the rise as readily available meals are rich in calories. So I believe, these items should be more expensive to reduce the consumption, which will eventually lead to a healthy Sri Lanka.