One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, one of the major challenges facing all nations is the scarcity of bread. Some individuals believe this menace could be curbed through the introduction of genetically processed food. In my view, I disagree with this because of its health implications and little knowledge about it. This would be discussed in the next few paragraphs. Firstly, some people believe the best way to ameliorate meal shortage is through alterations of its genetic makeup because they think it could increase the productivity of crops and yield species that are resistant to insects. However, they failed to consider its hazards to human health. Genetically modified fare has been linked to the development of human cancers like; the colon, stomach and rectum which in the long run could shorten the lifespan of human beings. A survey carried out in Japan following inadequate meal supply due to flood shows that the crop produced from genetic aberration killed more than two million people as a result of cancer complications. Hence, its demerits outweigh the benefits. Secondly, implementation of this trend requires a thorough understanding and technical knowledge which is found lacking in most developing countries,unlike developed nations. A global assessment study carried out shows that the African continent is really lagging behind in the application of this new development despite having the highest number of population dying of hunger as opposed to the Western world which is skilled in utilizing this science-driven approach. As a result, expertise has limited its use even though it could be of help. To conclude, I believe this new trend would not proffer a solution to the shortage of meals because of its disastrous effects on human health and the lack of basic technology needed to facilitate it in some parts of the world.