Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Smoking in public areas such as workplaces and restaurants is prohibited in most countries. However, many nations continue to permit such activities. This essay will discuss both of these approaches and argue why it is important to ban public smoking. On the one hand, countries that have entrenched a law against consuming tobacco support the idea that inhaling nicotine will deteriorate individuals’ health. They point to evidence from countries such as Bangladesh which has the highest incidence / occurrence of smoking related cancer. Furthermore, they claim that smoking in public places has adverse effects on pregnant women and children. A recent study shows that people smoking in public places have a bad influence on juveniles; as a result, they start consuming tobacco from an early age. The arguments are convincing and imposing strict laws against smoking seems legit. In these cases, proponents favoring smoking believe that it fuels the production and manufacturing industry, creating jobs for thousands of people. In this respect, tobacco has become the backbone of the economy of these countries. Moreover, governments generate huge revenue from taxes imposed on tobacco products. Needless to say, many countries have absolutely no intention of banning public smoking. To conclude, admittedly, tobacco plays an important role in some countries. Nevertheless, they should accept the truth that it is very harmful to public health. Even if the tobacco business generates jobs, it cannot be supported because smoking hurts even those who do not smoke through the passive inhalation of nicotine. That is why smoking in public places should be forbidden.