In order to take up a new sport some people think it is better to have access to the latest technology and the most up to date equipment. Other people believe that these things are not necessary for starting a new sport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Sports are the best way to maintain your health and one can learn a new sport irrespective of their age. However, some people feel that in order to learn a new sport it is absolutely necessary to buy the high-end equipment. There are different views regarding this statement. I partly accept that point as it gives them a reason or a motivation as to why they have to start. Seeing all the new accessories being used, the player gets interested in how to make good use of these things. Let me explain this clearly from an incident I have seen recently. There’s a friend of mine who has a ten-year-old at home, due to the extensive use of mobiles and laptops kids do not go out to play outdoor sports anymore. So, my friend has brought home a pair of tennis rackets and comfortable shoes for his kid. Upon seeing something new, the child definitely wanted to try out the sport and now the kid with a lot of practice is representing his school at competitions. There is another set of people who claim “to start a new sport, no new technology or equipment would be required”. I would agree with this statement as well. There are a lot of people who might not have access to such things due to various reasons, the main reason being financial capabilities. Even though they are unable to buy such stuff, their interest to learn the sport drives them. Our best example is the renowned boxer,Mary Kom. She did not have access to any of the modern and high-end technology or equipment, but she made it through just with her handwork and passion. In conclusion, I would say it is just the mindset of a person and their interest in learning a sport that decides the factor whether they should have access to the latest equipment, which I feel is not totally necessary.