Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this statement?

The life expectancy of the developed countries have increased due to the advancement of science and technology in the health services. This has increased the number of people living in the retirement age and some people want to increase the age limit of retirement. This essay will argue why increasing the retirement age is entirely necessary despite public opposition. Firstly, the number of people receiving benefits after retirement is increasing every year than those who contribute to the social security system. Most of the student will start to work at the age of 21 after completing the college, this percentage of people who starts working is less when compared to people who get retired. Moreover, people in age group between 70 to 80 are increasing as they proceed to live a longer life and require more benefits. For example, senior citizen requires more health services which are funded by social security benefit. This is causing the government to allocate more funds for retirement and health care benefits in their annual budget. On the other hand, senior people argue they have already contributed enough to the benefit systems and they are not prepared to work more. Also, those who are working in the manufacturing sector are having more health complications and are not able to work after a certain age limit. For example, a recent study shows that workers in the mining industry are getting cancer in the early stages of life than those who work in other sectors. Therefore, if government take some decision to increase the retirement age, they need to consider all the stakeholders. In my opinion, it is absolutely necessary to increase the retirement age to save the social security system and for the economic growth of the country even though it is going to affect some sections of people.