In many developed countries, life expectancy is rising while birthrates are falling. As a result, the elderly will make up a much larger proportion of the population in future. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent days, older people survive longer than the past, although there is a fall in the percentage of birth, and the rates of the aged people in the proportion of population will increase in the future. Though this progress is good for individuals, I think that this development would make impacts on economy and society. Firstly, if there are rise in the percentage of aging people in the population rate, the number of workforces would decrease. this is because employees’ age is between 18 to 60 around the world, and then humans who are over 60-year-old would quit their jobs. In addition, it might generate recession or slumping of GDP. According to the research done in 2018, in Japan mankind who are over 60 might occupy 30% in the population rate in 2040, and it would cause falling GDP ranks from third to 10th. Thus, this advancement would originate harmful effect on economy. Another key point that I would like to emphasize is the fact that children will have to spend a lot of money for older people in the future because elderlies retired from companies and cannot obtain salaries. It means youngsters have to expend the cost which older people waste in their lives such as the subsidy for health. For instance, in Japan civilians who are over 60 can acquire money for their lives now, nevertheless there is a likelihood that youngsters cannot be given the subsidy in 2050. In conclusion, even though there is good improvement for people, there would be some adverse results due to this development. Therefore, I consider that this is negative evolvement.