Some people believe that governments should invest more in protecting minority languages, while others think that this would be a waste of valuable resources. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few decades, there have been tremendous advancements in the fields of science and technology. The developments have not only taken place in these areas but also in our lifestyle. It has been observed that in order to sustain in these challenging times, children these days pay less heed to their mother tongue and are more inclined toward gaining knowledge of prominent lingos. So, some people opine that the government should spend more money in order to protect minority languages, whereas the opponents believe this expense is absolutely unnecessary and it would be a waste of valuable resources. In my opinion, I believe that minority lingos must be safeguarded from extinction. This essay will elucidate both views as well as my opinion in the forthcoming paragraphs. Certainly, the authorities must spend taxpayers' money cautiously for the betterment of society. In order to lead the nation toward prosperity, it is imperative for them to spend funds where it is necessary. For instance, if the law-making body spends on providing free education and improving medical facilities, it will benefit the public at large. So, rather than splurging on vernaculars, which are limited to only a few citizens, they action what is beneficial for the masses. Having said that, it is the culture, tradition, and languages that bind us all together. They keep us rooted in our motherland and promote the feeling of belongingness toward our community. For example, in a multicultural country like India, minority languages can easily be found in parts of the nation. If they are not protected, the locals will feel lost. They will lose their identity, and this can hamper their peace. Thus, it is substantial for the government to promote the growth of such lingos so that harmony is maintained among people. To conclude, for the overall enhancement of mankind, it is significant to give priority not only to science and technology but also to the protection of vernaculars that are nearing extinction. Surely, spending for promoting such regional dialects will develop peace and harmony in society.