Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent times, businesses often find that their new joiners do not showcase abilities in interpersonal skills such as communication, teamwork and being proactive. This essay will discuss the causes of such drawbacks and provide possible solutions. The primary cause for the problems in personal skills is attributed to a lack of exposure in a corporate environment. Graduates often join massive corporates right after completing their degrees, without any knowledge of the corporate world. For example, a study shows 75 per cent of freshers struggle with communication skills at their workplace due to the limited exposure they receive during their education. In addition, universities primarily focus on students achieving good grades, driving them to only focus on the academic curriculum. Thus, they rarely get the opportunity to take part in any activity that boosts their practical knowledge. Hence, a new environment and minimal practical experience owe towards a lack of personal skills. However, companies and education centres play a vital role in rectifying the issues, such as arranging training and career guidance programmes, respectively. Large entities have the resource to arrange training programmes and certifications for their new employees, which would help them develop their skills. For instance, many Indian financial services organisations provide a three-month training programme to their new joiners in order to boost such skills. Moreover, universities can also organise career events and encourage students in participating in them. This will help the students to be more prepared for the working world. Hence, through receiving assistance in improving the required skills employees can shine in their workplace. To sum up, there are many reasons for new employees in companies to lack interpersonal skills. Although, companies as well colleges play an essential role in supporting the problems.