The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of young offenders, causing widespread concern among the public. While it is argued that providing parents with parental skills is the most effective solution to address this issue, I believe that joint efforts of both parents and schools are required to decrease youth crimes. On the one hand, youngsters tend to imitate unconsciously their parents ’ words and actions. Thus, it is undeniable that parents can be important models in shaping children’s behaviour and characteristics through a set of internal and external social interactions. In other words, whether a teenager has a proper attitude or a good personality mostly depends on the parents ’ background. To be more specific, a report from Canadian National Crime Prevention revealed that adolescents from families which lack orders and discipline are four times more at risk of committing crimes as adults than children from structured ones. Therefore, providing parents with parental skills is crucial in reducing the crime rate among youngsters. These skills can include the use of discipline techniques and a balance between supervision and control over children’s habits. On the other hand, schools and other educational institutions also play a major part in the prevention and control of youth crimes. It is noteworthy that children spend most of their time in schools where their behaviour can be affected negatively by other peers, leading to the risk of wrongdoing or committing illegal activities. As a result, the role of schools to reduce the crime rate cannot be neglected. With a unique position, educational institutions can contribute to offspring’s development by providing them with nurturance and the opportunity to improve their social and psychological skills which are useful to avoid the factors contributing to misconduct. In fact, school-based programs are crucial in keeping children from embarking on a life of crime. In conclusion, both parents and schools play important roles in shaping teenagers’ behaviour and personality. Hence, they must cooperate closely to overcome the problem of youth crime.