Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the last half-century, the pace of development in the life of human beings has increased beyond our wildest expectations. This has been driven by technological and scientific breakthroughs that are changing the whole way we view the world on an almost daily basis. This means that change is not always a personal option, but an inescapable fact of life, and we need to constantly adapt to keep pace with it. Those who believe they have achieved some security by doing the same, familiar things are living in denial. Even when people believe they are resisting change themselves, they cannot stop the world around them from changing. For example, banking is now completely online and built on technology and we live in an increasingly cashless marketplace. Sooner or later they will find that the familiar jobs no longer exist, or that the ‘safe’ patterns of behaviour are no longer appropriate. However, reaching the conclusion that transformation is inevitable is not the same as assuming that ‘change is always for the better’. Unfortunately, it is not always the case that new things are promoted because they have good impacts on society. A lot of innovations are made with the aim of making money for a few. A case in point is the vast amount of money spent on space travel even though it may not benefit everyone. This is because it is the rich and powerful in our society who are able to impose changes (such as in working conditions or property developments) that are in their own interests. In conclusion, I would say that adaptation can be stimulating and energising for individuals when they pursue it themselves, but that all change, including that which is imposed on people, does not necessarily have good outcomes.