Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, children are addicted to smartphones. There are so many reasons behind it. Some people believe it is a positive development, but others think it is a negative development. In my point of view, I believe, it is a negative development. Not like our childhood, in this digital era, children grow up in a digital world. They are more prone to addict to these devices. Further, these screens are very attractive. Little ones can spend hours on games, youtube and etc. But, we can not really pass the blame to them. The main reason is, now they have limited stuff to entertain. When we were small, we had so many spaces to run around and mothers were at home with us to play. But, in this era, small ones are confined to limited places. So, they get attracted to these materials easily. Spending time with electronic devices is not good for a child's brain. A recent research paper has revealed that 8% of primary students suffer from a disease called "autism" in Sri Lanka. This has become a significant burden to the country. Addiction to screens was identified as a common reason for autism worldwide. Not only that, but also this has led to social isolation and communication failure among small ones. Also, it has proved that continuous use of smartphones can reduce common sense and coordination among students. In conclusion, it is clear that the usage of phones is not good for the future generation. As responsible adults, it is our duty to keep them away from these electronic appliances and let them enjoy the beauty of the natural environment.