many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think is the reason for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

During the last decade, technology has developed a lot, especially smartphones became a crucial part of everyone's life. Most of the time people spend their leisure occasion using smartphones. Reasons behind this are varied on different individuals. As the coin has two sides, this also has both positive and negative sides. In this essay, I would like to discuss in detail the reasons and explain why I believe using a smartphone most of the moment is a negative development. To begin with, the reasons individuals become more addicted to smartphones are families become nuclear rather than joint families. This trend reduced direct communication with others and individuals became more dependent on modern technologies. Moreover, smartphones help people in various aspects. By using different types of technologies and applications life became easier than before. For instance, by using Google Maps society can go anywhere without asking anybody. Despite all the positive aspects, it has become a trend that especially youngsters are more concentrated only on smartphones during their leisure time. This may lead to developing a gap between the family members as well as the close relatives because communication plays a major role in relationships. Moreover, with continuous usage of phones health problems may develop. For example, eyesight may get affected by prolonged use of phones. In conclusion, in my opinion, everybody should make their leisure time more creative by doing some recreation or by spending occasion with their close ones rather than concentrating only on smartphones. This may help the individual to maintain both physical and mental health in a good manner.