People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that are alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

It is believed that giving prisoners longer sentences is the best solution to reduce crime. While others hold the perspective that there are alternative ways of doing so. This essay will discuss both views of this argument and the reason why I think alternative ways might be more effective. On one hand, people believed that criminals should get longer time in jail because this could be seen as a threat. As a result, individuals would be more aware of the heavy punishment they might get, therefore creating fear among them. For example, in UAE, perverts and murderers would receive a life imprisonment penalty. Additionally, this causes them to think twice before committing a horrible crime, lowering the chances of becoming an offender. On the other hand, providing education and occupations for everybody could be another solution to this problem. Moreover, people who are well-educated and employed are busy with their own life. In contrast, unemployed individuals have a higher rate of committing an illegal act than those who have a job. As an illustration, in Denmark, education is totally free for everyone, and employment opportunity is highly recommended by the government. This is the reason why Denmark is considered to be the most peaceful country, which has a crime rate of nearly zero. In conclusion, while many argue that longer imprisonment can reduce offenders effectively. In my point of view, I sided with those who believed that there are replaceable solutions, as it creates a labor force for the country