Young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays juvenile crime rate is having an upward trend and this is a very worrying problem for the whole society. As everybody knows, most countries will send juvenile criminals to youth detention centres except for some special criminal cases. Some people argue that young people should be treated in the same way as adults and pay full responsibility for the violations they committed. I totally agree with this point after seeing juveniles commit more heinous violations than adults, which makes me realise that they’re not innocent. The less serious punishment for juvenile delinquents might lead to serious consequences. For instance, juvenile criminals might show no mercy to the victims if they knew they won’t get serious punishment for committing a crime. Thus, young delinquents could do whatever they want because they’re still not old enough to be charged and prisoned, the worst situation will only be staying in youth detention centres for a few years. Even though they stay in the youth detention centres, they might not learn a lesson because they still can get their freedom after a very short time, and the consequences of this will be they commit crimes again. Some juvenile delinquents could be forgiven because it could be accidents or mistakes that they didn’t realise, but what couldn’t be denied is some of the juveniles are mature enough to commit premeditated atrocities. For example, murdering and raping are both unforgivable crimes and criminals were definitely putting thought into it. These heinous cases are not related to the criminal’s age or maturity but the intention of attempting the crimes. Therefore, criminals should be punished according to the violations they committed instead of their age. In conclusion, being young shouldn’t be an excuse for anyone to get rid of their responsibilities and even penalties. The damage given to the victims by criminals is the same, so it’ll be definitely unfair to the victims if young criminals didn’t get the punishment that they deserved. Not only the victims but parents can also take it as a good example for their children and educate them to be responsible for their behaviour. Because of the serious consequences, juveniles will think twice before they attempt a crime and this will eventually lower the juvenile violation rate.