Some people b we lieve thst government should 8mvtdt more in protecting minority languages, while others think that this would be a waste of valuable resources. Discuss both the views and give your own option.

There are a lot of languages which are becoming less popular in their country of origin all around the globe. Some individuals suggest that governments should put in more effort to preserve these languages whiles others believe that this would just waste important resources. I side with the latter view. On the one hand, many langub langue bbbvages may go extinct if officials do not pay attention to them. A tribe can prevent the loss of a particular dialect if lots of campaigns are made to promote its speaking and studying among native speakers. Over the years, many societies have embraced their official languages ignoring their mother tongue. For instance, the Chief of the ' Ga ' natives in Ghana made a press conference encouraging his tribesmen to constantly speak the language among themselves in other not to lose it. Again, leaders can aid in the production of books and other literature in those languages that are near extinction to form part of the schools curriculum thereby promoting it among the youth. This method has been proven to be effective as it has successfully saved some languages in some parts of the world. Therefore, the states investing resources such as money and time will help save a lot of languages. On the other hand, there are more important issues that need the attention of the leaders in a country. Even though preserving language is likened to preserving culture, this should be totally up to the native speakers. This is because the main purpose of communication is understanding so whichever dialect an individual chooses to use should be their business. Furthermore, resources for campaigning for the promotion of a language can be channelled into mass education and awareness of diseases such as malaria and sexually transmitted infections. This in effect will benefit the whole country at large other than allocating funds for the production of books and literature of a certain dialect. In summary, there are a lot of languages losing their value. While many suggest that government spend monies and other resources to secure these languages, I believe that there are more important problems that need the attention of the government.