Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Life in a country where a different language is spoken can be challenging. I agree with the idea that people who put themselves in this situation should prepare for significant social and practical problems. The language barrier and differences in behaviour are the main social problems for anyone living in a foreign- language environment. Most migrants are not proficient in the new language, which makes meeting local people and making friends difficult. These challenges can have a negative effect on an individual’s confidence, and in some cases lead to feelings of loneliness, isolation or alienation. Another potential social problem is that new arrivals may offend locals inadvertently if they are unaware of cultural differences/norms/expectations regarding politeness. In Britain, for example, it is easy for non-native speakers to sound rude if they forget to say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’. Two practical problems for non-native speakers are finding accommodation and securing work. When searching for a place to live, migrants face language difficulties, which range from speaking to estate agents to understanding contracts. They are at a particular disadvantage when it comes to dealing with disputes with landlords, who may exploit them by charging more. With regard to finding work, employers are often reluctant to hire staff who are not fluent in the local language. They may worry that overseas workers will struggle to understand phone conversations, which could lead to miscommunication with customers. In conclusion, living in a foreign- language culture is undoubtedly difficult, both social and for practical reasons.