Topic: Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

In the cutting-edge era, many individuals are privileged to work from anywhere around the globe because of information technology. As far as I am concerned I completely agree with the statement. The forthcoming paragraphs will first discuss the fact that freedom is the primary benefit and impact on work and life balance is the main drawback. The main perk of working online is the freedom of the workplace. To elucidate, as long as a person has access to a laptop and the internet, it is easy to connect with their office and pursue their duties from anyhow distance in the world. To epitome, since the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, many businesses shifted to remote locations to avoid any effect on their business. Moreover, workers do not have to travel to their workplace, which results in purifying nature by reducing air and noise pollution. To exemplify, according to Forbes magazine air and noise pollution was reduced by 30% and the atmosphere was clearer than it was ever before. On the other hand, it can be spotted that it has a massive influence on work and life balance. To expand, living and working in the same place might result in a drop in their performance. For example, it has been observed in an article published in the Times of Toronto that during the pandemic online work helped them to perform their job, however, there was a 40% in the efficiency of their performance. To conclude, in my view, the fact that mobility can offer freedom and purify the environment overweigh the impact on the efficiency of a worker.