Some people say that spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majority of people believe that spoken communication is more useful and necessary than written communication. In my perspective, both types of communication have their own advantages and this essay will discuss more detail about this statement. Firstly, speaking allows speakers to deliver information significantly fast. It is because audiences can listen and understand the messages at the same time, right after they hear the voice while in writing, this method forces people to write and read to understand so spoken communication is quicker than the other. Secondly, this manner is more interesting than written communication since it can be combined with other factors such as voice tones, facial expression and body language of the speaker which leads to the attraction of audiences. For example, a teacher who knows the way to mix the lecture with their voice tones and body language will bring the best lecture that supports students to more focus than other lessons of a normal teacher. Furthermore, students will follow all the interesting actions of the teacher and notice every time when the teacher stresses something, and thus, they will not have to face boredom or sleepiness in class. Besides, written communication has its own merits. First and foremost, this way makes information be remembered longer because written speech forces people to use their eyes and brains, at the same time, in silence so they will concentrate more on the things they read and try to understand it. In fact, in a study of Melbourne University, they found that visual memories last longer than audio memories so it is the reason why people tend to use this method to memorize the information easier. Next, this type of communication is the best suitable way to avoid misunderstanding information. Because of its accuracy, people often use it in legal situations such as commitments and agreements or contracts. Moreover, essential documents have to be presented in written form to ensure the existence of the information. In conclusion, both kinds of communication have their own advantages and users will choose a method that is most suitable in different situations. For instance, in emergency cases people have to use spoken manner and if have to present legal documents they have to use a written way.