nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The proponents of alternative herbal treatment as medical treatment are growing in number nowadays despite of come to the hospital and making an appointment with a doctor. I would argue that people tend to find alternative medical treatment of because a lack of awareness of society in terms of the healthcare system. I believe this is negative development due to the potential risk that will be emerged caused by improper treatment as well as it could be exacerbated by the illness. I will elaborate on my stance point throughout this essay. To begin with, alternative medical care such as herbal medicine usually happened in the Asian region, and sometimes brings malpractice of treatment because of unproven scientific methods without considering the potential hazard. In addition, the University of Indonesia conducted research on people's awareness to visit hospitals when they were sick. The result of the study showed the proportion of people who have good awareness to go to healthcare facilities was still low. For instance, when someone who got a fracture caused by an accident, they prefer to go shaman instead of the hospital to obtain adequate treatment. Thus, it is clear evidence that people still lack awareness about the importance of doctors and obtaining proper medical care. Moreover, herbal medicine often led to exacerbate the illness because of the wrong approach. Besides, the ingredient of medicine that is given by the healer is not using a safe raw materials and are recognized by the authority, as a consequence the patient may suffer from disease and not be cured. Thus, at the end of the, day the patient came to the doctor in a worse condition, and they need to pay an extra cost to receive a proper cure. To summarize, it is clear that a negative consequence is received by society because of improper therapy from the doctor and even more exacerbates the illness, thus they should pay an extra cost to get cured.