Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication have a negative impact on young people’s writing and reading skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that children's reading and writing abilities are being negatively impacted by the rising usage of computers and mobile phones for communication.I agree with the notion, as there is more to lose with the increasing technology with respect to communication skills Kids have easy access to smartphones and computers enabling them to the world of the internet. Although, the internet has an abundance of learning material young ones get distracted easily by games and social media. Further, social media aggravates the situation because of the high usage of slang words. To top it off, all new forms of technology use typing tools instead of the traditional form of writing leading to poor development of writing skills and vocabulary. For instance, the habit of typing in short forms leads to a lot of errors while writing the IELTS test resulting in a lower band score. On the other hand, having access to the Internet and utilising it appropriately can help develop a lot of skills and especially reading habits. A broad range of vocabulary and concepts can be learned from the internet. Also, it is argued that writing will become obsolete with changes in methods of communication and one should harness and improve on their typing speed. For example, the rise in programming and coding culture among young people has led to the rise in competition for speed typing. In conclusion, growth in technology is disruptive for some forms of communication skills but, if utilised properly, it can have greater benefits.