People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Having children at a younger age has always been supported by society. But over the last decades people started to rethink parenting, and the age of having the first baby has increased. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this issue. First, postponing the birth of the first child more likely will lead to having fewer children in general, and this fact has a direct influence on the age pyramid of society. It means these generations will suffer from the tax burden, as they will need to take care of previous generations where 4-6 children in the family were normal. Governments will have to cut funding of public sectors, which consequently will decrease the life quality of some groups. For example, possible decisions could be increasing the retirement age or reduction in the amount of social benefits. Although there is a high risk of difficulties with taxes in the future, I believe that having beloved and well-educated children will bring much more benefits to humanity. People at older ages tend to perceive parenthood as a responsible and important deal, so there are more chances that they will do their best while raising an infant. Well-educated and confident individuals are considered to generate more wealth and have less deviant conduct. According to the American Correctional Association, three-quarters of serial killers were grown in dysfunctional families and were unwanted children. In conclusion, despite some demerits, having a baby at older age is more advantageous as parents can provide a better life and upbringing. Therefore, this trend should be welcomed and encouraged.