In some countries, there is not enough respect for elderly people. What are the causes of this? Suggest some solutions.

It is generally claimed that older people are not much respected these days. This writing gives elaboration on the causes of this attitude and the solution of this social phenomenon. Elderly group is unlikely to receive respect lately as many younger people are becoming more individualistic due to current work culture. It is argued that workaholic people tend to be selfish due to the great prioritization of themselves. For instance, recently, it is rare to see a chair given to an old passenger by young individuals in an underground train or subway. Working communities in the subway tend to not give up the chair to vulnerable communities due to tiredness acquired from working. Secondly, it seems that parents have not contributed in educating the children about the importance of respect towards the elderly community. Apparently, nowadays parents tend to advise more on materialistic values such as good grades, job and career. The government ought to strengthen the policy that supports elderly in the public sphere. Take, for example, punishment or charged fines can be enacted for younger people who take chairs that are provided to vulnerable groups such as pregnant women and elderly. After all, those old citizens have contributed something to the country. Another solution that can be immediately done is parental support, which parents must give more views on attitudes about how elderly should be respected and taken care of. In conclusion, today’s lifestyle trend and parenting determine how one acts towards older people. Therefore, it is important how government and parent take an action to solve this issue.