Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The importance of writing letters to contact the world has outdated, was always debatable, and has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of new technology to connect with other people around the world has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend on society over the years. It can be agreed that communicating using modern means of communication has certain advantages, however, there are certain disadvantages as well. This essay will elaborate on the two opinions and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. Initially, there are numerous reasons why the latest inventions antiquated the letters, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that new communication methods are fast and more reliable in contrast to letters. Moreover, it takes months to reach the letter to the concern place, however, a text message reached the destination in milliseconds. Additionally, letters are written on paper which also helps in polluting the environment, whereas, text messages and phone calls are not the reason for pollution. For example, a study published by the University of Manchester revealed that 98 per cent of people prefer text messages over letters in United Kingdom. Using modernized communication methods which are fast and reliable, plays a vital role in outdating writing letters. On the other hand, approaches to deal with problems of writing letters are numerous such as sometimes letters getting misplaced and do not reach their destination. In addition, the duration of letters reaching from one destination to the other destination is slow compared to modern technology. Therefore, the government should introduce rules and regulations to speed up and enhance the quality of the process of post office, which is not unattainable and impractical but comprehensive and feasible. Additionally, most of the documents are posted through the postal system. For instance, a study published by the University of Malta revealed that 80 per cent of the Malta government letters are dispatched from one place to another using a national postage service. Writing letters, therefore, plays an imperative role in communicating between governmental organizations. Based on the above-mentioned facts, it can be concluded that the new techniques of communication like text messages and phone calls are prominent and have a lot of benefits, although solutions like enhancing the quality and speeding up the postal service should be well handled.