Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, the human population has intensively increased to the point that it seems almost impossible to escape the everyday traffic jam. These days, some argue that governments ought to invest more in railways rather than roads. Although trains are more eco-friendly, I firmly disagree with this opinion because vehicles are not restricted to certain locations and they are much faster. Small automobiles offer the availability to land in any place. In other words, when comparing them to metros, no stations are needed to access them. For example, a person late to his work could use his private vehicle which, most times, would be parked near his accommodation. Thus, they are more convenient when compared to other modes of transport. Trips done by cars are generally quick since there are no stops like in subways. So, if more funds are spent on building new bridges and tunnels, cars would surely be considered the ideal method of transport by the local communities. For instance, a journey that usually takes one hour would be reduced to 30 minutes after a new bridge connecting two parts of the city is built. Therefore, ameliorating roads would be greatly beneficial to employees. On the contrary, people suggest that railways have greater priority because the emissions produced from them are significantly lower when compared to vehicles since numerous people travel in one carriage instead of each having their own motorcars. Hence, they are considered more sustainable as it is better for the environment. In conclusion, while trains are more environmentally friendly, I sincerely believe that the expenditure should be used to improve the roads to allow cars to travel faster. However, governments ought to encourage their citizens to use electric vehicles.