Task 2: Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety has been a considerable concern and a heated discussion for a long time. Many people suggest that the best solution to increase driving safety is to raise the minimum legal age. Though young people might be more likely to cause accidents, I disagree with the thought that it is the optimal way. There are plentiful reasons why setting a new minimum legal age is not the best solution. Firstly, young age is not the only subject with potential to be involved in collisions as old people with poor vision, weak health condition might also be a concern when driving. Secondly, this new limit might bring inconvenience to young drivers. As they also need to go to work or study, using cars and motor-bikes are faster compared to bikes, especially for people living far away. Therefore, this new law might affect their lives negatively. Since increasing the minimum legal age is not the optimal solution, there are plentiful alternatives to enhance road safety. A more effective way that should be adopted is to improve driving skills. This can be done by promoting training and educating people about road rules and driving techniques carefully at driving schools. In addition, driving tests should be more realistic and challenging. Therefore, people with licenses are more likely to be provided with enough skills and knowledge to drive safely and responsibly. In conclusion, with an attempt to improve road safety, setting the age should not be the ultimate solution. Instead, enhancing driving skills is a more effective measure to be adopted. Hopefully, this problem with driving safety would witness more progress in the near future.