Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Technological achievements have made a lot of stuff much more easily accessible and cheaper to get your hands on. This also affected the fields containing intellectual property and its creators. In this essay I will be discussing literature and music industries and how nowadays technology has made it much simpler to download it without paying for the product and expressing my point of view, positives and negatives of this change. First of all, due to the content being put online for free, artists, especially the less known ones who depend on their art to survive and pay the bills, the amount they earn for their work drops which directly impacts the creator's life and could become a big struggle. Popular performers, usually in the music industry, tend to release branded clothing, physical records which helps them to still get steadily paid but not everyone is able to do that because of their small audience, extra expenses or other reasons. In this day and age, paper books are becoming less popular and authors usually do not put out other types of stuff relating to their creations, so surviving just by writing can be quite hard. On the other hand, modern technology makes a wide variety of art more accessible, this way people all over the world can enjoy it. Paying for certain content usually allows the customer to consume it in higher quality, without advertisements or with bonus material, so if one likes the creator and wants to see more from the author maybe it will encourage them to pay to receive it. Overall, I get the temptation to download copyrighted creations for free but it is still quite unfair to do so. I would say that getting art legally is better and I try to do so myself.