Some people think environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, think that those problems cannot be solved unless individuals take some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that individuals cannot solve environmental problems. However, there is a more persuasive argument that those problems can be solved only if individuals take some action because certain policies made by the government always need citizens' participation for their effect. On the one hand, some people believe that the policy of the government is essential for improving environmental concerns. They might say that there are many things that only the government can do, such as developing alternative energy resources and strengthening penalties on persons who cause severe environmental pollution. For example, in Korea, the government bans the use of plastic cups in cafeteria shops, so people are allowed to get plastic cups only when they take out coffee outside. Because of this policy, in Korea, the quantity of using plastic cups in cafes shows a downward trend recently. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that it is an individual's devotion that can solve environmental problems effectively. Even though various policies are implemented by the government, they can't have an important impact on the improvement of environmental concerns without individual participation. Actually, a recent study demonstrated that the town where the residents are aware of the seriousness of environmental pollution tends to make less amount of garbage than other towns. Citizen's participation and desire for improving environmental problem is a necessary for solving this problem. To sum up, it seems apparent that the government should implement policies to solve environmental problems, because this problem is too big to solve for individuals. However, I firmly believe that individual action is more important than the government's because of its effectiveness.